_mg_1762-1024
Luna, 2011
Bondage has had an almost magical power for me. In my hands I feel I am wrapping more than a rope around a body, I feel I am guiding my captive’s energy, drawing them into a trance. Once my subject is bound, any nervousness they had melted away as they accept the position they are in. My subject becomes more focused on the moment at hand than what happens later, or dinner plans on Tuesday, and who’s turn it was to clean the cat box. None of that. Just their bindings, holding them in and inescapable embrace.
There is always a change in a subject when I bind them, even if I release them in a scene. The difference in a subject when I whip them standing against a wall versus tied to a cross is remarkable. Some subjects I instruct to stand still for impact play tend to be more stoic, holding back their reactions, but the effort seems to take away energy. When bound they come to life, straining against the ropes, crying out, even egging me on. Sometimes they can take handle more pain when bound, unburdened by the choice to stay still or try to escape. I enjoy using bondage subspace for transformational scenes. Encasing my subjects in a plastic-wrap cocoon, I am able to direct their attention to what they are to become when they are released. I ask them to think about what they are now. A fly caught in my web, or a caterpillar, awaiting metamorphosis.
When I ran a dungeon, a small handful of subjects who came to see me solely for bondage. What they all have in common is the pursuit of bondage subspace. Some struggle, testing, making sure they are truly helpless. Others stay still, breathing deep, their bodies visibly relaxing as the sink into subtly altered consciousness, which has been ideal for more than a few guided meditation sessions. I understand the appeal, I too seek out bondage space from time to time.
On occasions that I submit myself to a partner I am reminded of how it feels to give yourself over completely to being bound, bringing a certain kind of peace and reassurance to my often racing thoughts. Again and again, I find myself thinking fondly of the times when I slipped effortlessly into bondage space, like sinking into a warm bath. With rope bondage I felt like I was all at once being stretched and folded into an expression of the feelings of beauty I experienced in bondage subspace. Once, while modeling latex pieces for a vendor website, I didn’t realize I’d near instantly slipped into bondage space once the zipper of a sleep sack was pulled shut. I remember the photographer and assistant checking in when I fell very still and silent and then having a laugh with me when we realized I was experiencing subspace. It was an entertaining experience, drifting far off in bondage space while being very much there, in the moment, in the sleep sack.
